Buying a house with a pool

🏊 Buying, building and maintaining pools and swimming ponds in France.
demi

#1 Post by demi »

As some of you know I moved to France last year & am still looking for a house to buy.

One has come up that fulfills many of my criteria & I am going to see it in a couple of days.

But, it has a pool! 8x4M. I love to swim but find 8M a pretty short pool for swimming. ( I usually do 1K of front crawl in a 25M pool) a couple of times a week. So I regard an 8x4 as a 'play' pool.

I feel I may be paying for something I don't really want even thought the grandchildren would love it!

The other thing that worries me (I have no knowledge of owning a pool) is what happens when there is a hoepipe ban & one can't top up the pool? That is a situation that I can see happening more & more often.

I'd be interested in your thoughts on this.

The house is modern, built in 2015 & I wonder how much is added for a pool?

Bayleaf

#2 Post by Bayleaf »

From what I've seen of our clients who have pools - admittedly only holiday homes, whether that makes any difference - is that they're a constant worry, drain on ressources, and high maintenance. Regardless of size and type!

curtis

#3 Post by curtis »

I am sure there will be those that say properly set up there is little to do with a pool. Automatic checking and dosing etc.
We lived in a house with a large pool for 20 years and it was essential for business. However, I found it hardwork at times. When we moved a pool was not on the list of wants.

Lori

#4 Post by Lori »

I agree that an 8x4 pool is just too small. We had an 11x5 in the Vaucluse and it was perfect for 50 to 75 laps each day.

Last Summer, due to severe water restrictions in the Vaucluse, a huge number of people had to shut down their pools for a long period of time as they could not legally top them up. It was a major problem. Some towns actually went dry - as in no drinking water available.