Monitor Calibration

:camera: The place to share your photos as well as exchanging ideas, information, and discuss software and equipment
niemeyjt

Monitor Calibration

#1 Post by niemeyjt »

Have any of you keen photographers done calibration of your computer monitors?

What did you use?

TIA

J

Blaze

Re: Monitor Calibration

#2 Post by Blaze »

I'm a keen photographer but not quite sure what you mean by monitor calibration !

niemeyjt

#3 Post by niemeyjt »

Basically, it is making sure the monitor displays the colours accurately.

It involves a computer running a program to send certain colours to the screen - then an external sensor recording the colour actually displayed.

The computer then calculates the differences and makes adjustments to the settings for that monitor - most modern OSs allow higher-end monitors to be individually adjusted.

I have just upgraded my screens and it is very noticeable.

For a more detailed explanation: https://clarkvision.com/articles/calibr ... r.monitor/

Blaze

#4 Post by Blaze »

I'm a Mac user and have never had to do anything, and on my new screen, all I change is the luminosity of the screen itself. I appreciate that when I post a photo, others may not see the same colours I do !

niemeyjt

#5 Post by niemeyjt »

A Mac screen can be "off" as can any other makers - but if you have only the one then it is not a big issue really. My problem is that I have a multi-display system and the monitors are all out with one another.

Besides, even if you do calibrate your monitor, unless the viewer also has a calibrated monitor then they will see something different anyhow!

Blaze

#6 Post by Blaze »

:shock:
I can see the problem if you are running more than one monitor at a time !
Quite apart from what a machine displays, we don't all see colours in the same way anyway. Complicated aren't we ?! :D

Char
Site Admin

#7 Post by Char »